10
May
10

Commentary – Why Video Games & Movies Don’t Mix

Now, lets start off this article by saying that some of the combos aren’t necessarily bad, but some of them aren’t great either. Video games and movies have been around since anyone can remember, but only in the mid 80’s did the two combine to make something so unholy.

Companies today only make movie licensed video games for the money and nothing else. Let’s take some of the god awful ones into play shall we? In no particular order, Iron man 1 and 2; now let’s be clear I’m not talking about the movies, those were epic. The game versions of Iron Man 1 and 2 however were just plain awful, from the controls, to the gameplay. Everything stunk. I could go on with the laundry list of bad movie-based video games. The Spiderman series, Karate Kid for the NES, Superman 64. Need I go on? Movies and Video Games are like good food and bad beer, two tastes that don’t taste great together.

There are however a few exceptions to the rule of suck. One of my favorites being being the freeware game, Starfighter. Yes, this is a replica of the video game featured in The Last Starfighter. Wonderful movie which still holds true to this day, and a epic recreation of the game. (You can pick up a copy free from the folks over at RougeSynapse). Another one of my favorites games that was movie based was Resident Evil 2. Granted yes, the game came out first and then was made into a sucktastic piece of steaming crap by Hollywood. The pacing and the creppyness never strayed to far from jumping out and scaring the crap out of you. If you try really hard you can find some decent ones out there & this is just my personal opinion.

11 Responses to “Commentary – Why Video Games & Movies Don’t Mix”


  1. May 11, 2010 at 12:10 am

    I have to agree with you in the movies that are great and the video games are not worth playing. The only way to avoid it is to rent them from someplace like blockbuster and see how they work. That is either the first or last time you will play that game in the future.

  2. February 9, 2014 at 10:29 pm

    What a stuff of un-ambiguity and preserveness of precious knowledge
    concerning unexpected emotions.

  3. June 28, 2014 at 2:41 pm

    Howdy! I know this is kinda off topic however I’d figured I’d ask.
    Would you be interested in trading links or maybe guest writing a blog article or vice-versa?
    My site addresses a lot of the same topics as yours and I feel we could greatly benefit from each other.
    If you might be interested feel free to send me an email.
    I look forward to hearing from you! Excellent
    blog by the way!

  4. June 28, 2014 at 3:13 pm

    Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you knew of any widgets I could add to my
    blog that automatically tweet my newest twitter updates.
    I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this for
    quite some time and was hoping maybe you would have some experience
    with something like this. Please let me know if you run into anything.
    I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look forward to your new updates.

  5. June 28, 2014 at 3:22 pm

    Hello there! This is kind of off topic but I need some help from an established blog.
    Is it difficult to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out
    pretty quick. I’m thinking about creating my own but I’m not sure where
    to start. Do you have any points or suggestions?
    Many thanks

  6. June 28, 2014 at 5:36 pm

    I have been exploring for a little for any high-quality articles or weblog posts on this sort of space .
    Exploring in Yahoo I at last stumbled upon this site.
    Reading this info So i am happy to convey that
    I’ve a very excellent uncanny feeling I found out exactly what I needed.
    I such a lot no doubt will make certain to don?t omit
    this site and provides it a look regularly.

  7. June 28, 2014 at 9:38 pm

    I am really enjoying the theme/design of your website.
    Do you ever run into any internet browser compatibility problems?
    A couple of my blog readers have complained about
    my website not operating correctly in Explorer but looks great in Firefox.
    Do you have any tips to help fix this problem?

  8. June 28, 2014 at 11:13 pm

    This post is worth everyone’s attention. How
    can I find out more?

  9. June 30, 2014 at 9:44 pm

    Hurrah! After all I got a weblog from where I be capable of in fact get helpful data concerning my study and
    knowledge.

  10. August 5, 2014 at 4:03 pm

    The district stretches along the shores of Arabian sea for a distance of 78 K M.
    There are many tropical islands and tourist places in this country
    to enjoy during vacations. Photography enthusiasts can capture stunning sunset photos.

  11. August 8, 2014 at 7:30 pm

    Dubai has developed verey rapidly in the past few years under the guidance of its rulers.

    Aside from this, it is also often regarded as The
    Golden City of the East. There are some nice little
    shops at the beach as weell as lots of chairs at no extra charge, a fairly
    nice place to eat and snorkeling gear for rent.


Leave a Reply

May 2010
M T W T F S S
    Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

KillTwitter

Blog Stats

  • 4,257 hits

